Current Position:Home > Time Machine Deletes Old Backups without warning!!

Time Machine Deletes Old Backups without warning!!

Update:11-30Source: network consolidation
Advertisement
I have just lost loads of pictures and emails when my Timemachine deleted old backups. I was so happy to have an easy way to keep my iPhoto cleaned up while keeping all the photos for the future. I would load my all the photos from my camera, backup with TimeMachine and delete the "bad" unwanted photos, confident in the knowledge that these pictures are still there on my external. I looked forward to some future date when someone would write an easy piece of software to consolidate old iPhoto libraries and even go through TimeMachine and consolidate those photos too. But until that fantasy event, my pictures, even though not wanted were still there.
Not any more!!
I replaced my hard drive and reloaded my laptop from Timemachine and I think that was the event that sparked the dump.
There should be a special check box to make sure that NO backups are automatically deleted, EVER. They should be a way to make them Sacred!!
There should be a way to create a separate backup just for iPhoto because right now, there are no good ways to easily break apart or merge iPhoto libraries. At least what I was doing worked, (well.... until it didn't).
Any ideas??

The Best Answer

Advertisement
nerowolfe wrote:
True, TM is not a classic archival system, but until the drive is full, the difference is moot.
No, the difference isn't moot.
I still have on my TM HD every file I ever had because it's only 1/2 full.
No, you don't. Read on...
Time machine has three levels of backups:
1) hourly - deleted after 24 hours
2) daily - deleted after a week
3) weekly - deleted only when the disk is full - these are the only deletions you will be warned about
Time machine is always deleting files. Every time it backs up, it deletes files.
But the OP's real question is why he was never warned about the old backups being deleted, as TM says it will do, archival stuff notwithstanding. Apparently TM simply ignores the user's request to be warned.
No, it doesn't.
That being said, as I asked in a post not too long ago, "how many have had a warning from TM that old backups are being deleted?" as one would expect when the TM preference box, "Warn when old backups are deleted" is checked.
It appears to me to be a bug.
I ask again if anyone has gotten this warning.
Nobody answered my previous post with a yes.
Yes.
Because Time Machine continually cleans up behind itself, it tries very hard to ever delete the weekly backups. The only time I've gotten the deletion warning was when my disk was full. I think I just avoided the problem by removing my old Parallels images from Time Machine and got back an extra 70 gig or so - good for another six months.
This is not a bug. This is how Time Machine works. It is unfortunate that the original poster did not fully understand this. The fact is that Time Machine backs everything up. If you create 100 files, it backs up the folder with 100 new files. If you delete 100 files, it backs up the folder with 100 less files. Then, the next day, it deletes old backups. The only one it keeps is the last one, with 100 less files.
It is correct to say that Time Machine is not an archival system. It is a backup system. If you want to save your files forever, you need to copy them to a location that isn't under the control of any sort of automatic software.
  • Time Machine Deletes Old Backups without warning!! Update:11-30

    I have just lost loads of pictures and emails when my Timemachine deleted old backups. I was so happy to have an easy way to keep my iPhoto cleaned up while keeping all the photos for the future. I would load my all the photos from my camera, backup

  • Doesn't Time Machine delete old backups when it needs more space? Update:10-11

    I've had time machine running for a long time now. It worked flawlessly for quite some time. Today it gave me the error that there was not enough free space on the disk to complete the backup (the error message says something like there is 360 GB of

  • Time Machine deleted "expired" backups. Why? Update:10-11

    I want to know why Time Machine deleted some backups although the disk has plenty of free space available. 02/05/15 09:46:39,191 com.apple.backupd[91015]: Starting automatic backup 02/05/15 09:46:39,281 com.apple.backupd[91015]: Backing up to /dev/di

  • Time Machine deleted all backups Update:10-11

    Just got a TM error message saying my 3TB drive needed 1.68TB and there was only 1.3 TB available. I thought this unlikely as my target drive should only require an incremental backup (1.68TB being a full backup). So I clicked 'back up now' (daft, I

  • Time Machine deletes oldest backups?! Update:11-30

    So I'm starting to use Time Machine, now that my tape drive went south. I decided to rotate drives and use Time Machine. I'm reading threads about rotating drives and it seems straight forward. Swap drive, tell Time Machine to use the drive that you

  • Exposé hot keys disabled after Time Machine "Delete all backups of file" Update:10-11

    I have been having the same problem that was initially mentioned in this topic: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=5850265#5850265 Namely, sometimes after I restart all of my Exposé and Dashboard hot keys have been turned off (but not

  • Time Machine: "Delete All Backups of..." does not free up drive space Update:10-11

    When I select "Delete All Backups of..." in the Time Machine Finder window, fiiles get deleted, but no disk space appears to be freed up. For example... Today I deleted all backups of more than 100GB of Movies and TV Recording I no longer want i

  • Time Machine deleted old backups as disk filled up. Now I'm confused Update:10-11

    Hi guys,      My backup disk was full, and hence Time Machine deleted my old backup. The most important data on my Mac (for me) is my iPhoto library. As I know it, Time Machine deletes backups for files which are used less frequently. In my iPhoto li

  • Undo Time Machine "Delete all backups of..." Update:11-30

    At some point I told Time Machine to get rid of backups of a particular file using the "Delete all backups of ..." option. Time Machine duly deleted the backups of the file and stopped making new ones. I've since changed my mind but I can't figu

  • Time Machine "Delete all Backups" doesn't recover space Update:11-30

    I recently deleted several iDVD and iMovie projects (>12GB) and disk images (4GB). Thinking I would recover all this HD space, I entered Time Machine, selected an old version of that file that TM had backed up, and then used the "Delete all Backup